Monday, August 7, 2017

Review: The Dress In The Window

The Dress In The Window
by Sofia Grant

Why I chose this book? I love 40s fashion
When I read this book? July 2017
Who should read this book? Fans of post WWII era fiction
Source: TLC Book Tours
My Rating:   ✰✰✰✰     4 Stars

Here is a synopsis of The Dress In The Window from TLC Book Tours

• Paperback: 384 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (July 25, 2017)
A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress—it’s a “must have” and when you “try it on” it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams.
World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color—all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing.
Jeanne Brink and her sister Peggy both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offer—Peggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fiancĂ© she’d counted on, both living with Peggy’s mother-in-law in a grim mill town.  But despite their grey pasts they long for a bright future—Jeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggy’s brilliant sketches.
Together, they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than they’d ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to make—or break—their dreams.

My Review

I really enjoyed this one! I love looking at post-WWII fashion, so this book had a lot to interest me, from the descriptions of the various fabrics at the beginning of each chapter to the process of design of the different outfits. And I have to say; I love the cover and the dress with that detailed trim! I also really liked most of the characters in the novel, despite the fact that all of the characters were flawed. Thelma, the mother-in-law, was my favorite character. She was a strong woman who made it her business to survive and to protect those she loved.

The synopsis tells us that her daughter-in-law Peggy resented playing second fiddle to her sister Jeanne, but the truth is, there were times that Jeanne played second fiddle to Peggy and had resentments of her own. All three of the women, made their share of bad decisions. All three also had their share of misfortune.  I was never quite sure what was going to happen in this story, and that kept me reading!  

My only quibble with the book was the ending. The story ended rather abruptly. There is an epilogue that updates us a bit on the characters; what they are doing and where they are. But it is quite a jump, and we are not really sure how they got to where they are. I would have liked a bit more detail.

Book clubs will have some great discussions about this book. Discussion can center around the role of women in the post-war era and the ‘2nd-class’ status they held. There are also plenty of ‘what would you do’ situations to discuss bases on the actions and motivations of the different characters. Whether for your book club or for an individual read, I highly recommend this one!

Purchase Links: HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Sofia Grant

Sofia Grant has the heart of a homemaker, the curiosity of a cat, and the keen eye of a scout. She works from an urban aerie in Oakland, California.

Find out more about Sofia at her website, and connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

This book review is included in a tour by TLC Book Tours. I was provided a copy for review purposes.
Tuesday, July 25th: Life By Kristen
Wednesday, July 26th: Book by Book
Thursday, July 27th: View from the Birdhouse
Friday, July 28th: Kritters Ramblings
Monday, July 31st: A Chick Who Reads
Tuesday, August 1st: BookNAround
Wednesday, August 2nd: Based on a True Story
Thursday, August 3rd: Tina Says…
Friday, August 4th: Bibliotica
Monday, August 7th: Time 2 Read
Tuesday, August 8th: Into the Hall of Books
Wednesday, August 9th: Diary of a Stay at Home Mom
Friday, August 11th: StephTheBookworm

post signature


  1. This sounds like such a fun read for you! It's wonderful that it connected to one of your hobbies so closely. I can't think of which books I've read that are like that for me, but I think they've mostly been about reading or blogging :)

  2. The post-war era was such a tumultuous time for women, and these three women embody that challenge very clearly. I'm glad you enjoyed this one! Thanks for being a part of the tour.